Main Line: (888) 707-7762
Fax: (717) 657-3796

ANA Elections

Representatives at the American Nurses Association’s (ANA) Membership Assembly elected Ernest James Grant, PhD, MSN, RN, FAAN, of the North Carolina Nurses Association, to serve as vice president of the professional association that represents the interests of the nation’s 3.4 million registered nurses (RNs).
The voting representatives of ANA’s Membership Assembly also re-elected two members of the nine-member board of directors — Treasurer Gingy Harshey-Meade, MSN, RN, CAE, NEA-BC, of the Indiana State Nurses Association; and Director-At-Large Recent Graduate Jesse M.L. Kennedy, BSN, RN, of the Oregon Nurses Association.

Grant works as a nursing education clinician in the UNC Hospitals Burn Center. He earned a PhD in nursing from the University of North Carolina-Greensboro. He previously served as a director-at-large on ANA’s Board of Directors from 2004 to 2008 and as president of the North Carolina Nurses Association from 2009 to 2011.

Harshey-Meade serves as chief executive officer (CEO) of the Indiana State Nurses Association. Previously, Harshey-Meade was CEO of the Ohio Nurses Association for 14 years. Harshey-Meade earned bachelors and master’s degrees in nursing from Seton Hall University.

Kennedy is a clinical nurse at Oregon’s PeaceHealth Sacred Heart Medical Center at RiverBend in critical care, the post-anesthesia care unit, emergency department and intensive care unit. Kennedy earned his BSN at Oregon Health and Science University and served as president of the National Student Nurses’ Association from 2013 to 2014.

Those continuing their terms on the ANA Board are: President Pamela F. Cipriano, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, Virginia Nurses Association; Secretary Patricia Travis, PhD, RN, CCRP, Maryland Nurses Association; Director-at-Large Andrea Gregg, PhD, RN, Florida Nurses Association; Director-at-Large Faith Jones, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, CMA, Wyoming Nurses Association; and Directors-at-Large Staff Nurses Linda Gural, RN, CCRN, New Jersey State Nurses Association, and Gayle M. Peterson, RN-BC, ANA Massachusetts. Elected to serve on the Nominations and Elections Committee are: Jennifer Louise Embree, DNP, RN, NE-BC, CCNS, Indiana State Nurses Association; Jennifer McGuire Hitt, PhD, RN, CNE, Mississippi Nurses Association; Chris M. Rhodes, BSN, RN, Alabama State Nurses Association; and Brienne M. Sandow, MSN, RN, RNC-OB, Idaho Nurses Association.

Previous ArticleNext Article