Main Line: (888) 707-7762
Fax: (717) 657-3796

PSNA Members Receive ANA National Awards


The American Nurses Association (ANA)  announced its 2018 National Awards recipients. ANA’s National Awards honor outstanding nurses whose dedication and achievements have contributed significantly to the nursing profession.

This year’s 12 honorees include two registered nurses who will be inducted into ANA’s Hall of Fame, and ten registered nurses who will receive Honorary Awards. A ceremony to honor the 12 award recipients will be held on Friday, June 22, at the Washington Hilton in Washington, D.C., during ANA’s Membership Assembly.

ANA is honored to celebrate the extraordinary achievements of these nurses, who are exemplary leaders and advocates, and whose contributions have advanced nursing and demonstrated ANA’s impact on improving health care for all.



Hall of Fame Award

ANA established the nursing Hall of Fame Award to recognize individual nurses’ significant commitments to the nursing field and their impact on the health and social history of the United States. ANA first inducted recipients into the Hall of Fame in 1976.

The late Dr. Marie Louise Fitzpatrick was a visionary leader and champion for the nursing profession, international health care and nursing education. Dr. Fitzpatrick was the Connelly Endowed Dean and Professor of the College of Nursing at Villanova University – a position she held for nearly 40 years. Under her leadership, Villanova’s College of Nursing was created and developed into a premier nursing program. She expanded the college’s academic programs, including initiating the master’s and doctoral programs, as well as an accelerated BSN program for second-degree students. Dr. Fitzpatrick developed distance learning strategies and clinical simulation initiatives with a focus on scholarship and research.

Honorary Award

The Honorary Award recipients are highly accomplished registered nurse leaders and will be honored for their outstanding service to the profession in categories ranging from public health to patient advocacy to legislative successes.

  • Marilyn D. Harris, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN 
    Pennsylvania State Nurses Association
    The Distinguished Membership Award recognizes outstanding leadership and contributions to the mission of ANA.
  • Richard Henker, PhD, RN, FAAN 
    Pennsylvania State Nurses Association
    The Luther Christman Award recognizes the contributions that an individual man in nursing has made to the profession of nursing.

For a full list, click here.

Previous ArticleNext Article